Hawkeyes Big Ten Champions!

For the first time ever, the Iowa Hawkeyes baseball team are Big Ten Tournament champions. The Hawkeyes entered the tournament as the league’s number 5 seed and after a victory Thursday over 4 seeded Maryland, the Hawkeyes went on to knock off #1 seed Nebraska 2-zero in a pitcher’s duel Friday.  Saturday morning the Hawks took their only loss 9 to 3 the third seeded Minnesota Gophers. Iowa would bounce back 5 hours later to end Minnesota’s season in a tight 7 to 5 victory which set the Hawks up for a berth in the championship against Northwestern Sunday. The Hawkeyes left no doubt belting out 14 hits on their way to a 13-4 victory to secure their first big ten tournament championship. 4 Hawkeyes made the all-tournament team with sophomore left field Chris Whelan being selected the first ever most outstanding play from the University of Iowa. The Hawkeyes will be right back to the grindstone this week as they were seeded 4th in the Houston region of the NCAA Tournament and will face a hostile environment against the number 1 seeded Houston Cougars Friday at 7PM.